New York Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention

Live Support

Call Us: 1-877-689-0674

New York Online Course in Defensive Driving

Defensive Driving Course 100% Online in New York

Our New York DMV approved defensive driving course is 100% online and meets all DMV requirements for New York drivers to receive point reduction and insurance reduction (otherwise known as IPIRP). Formerly available only in the classroom, this program is now online, which provides you with easier access to the point and insurance reduction benefits.

Why New York Defensive Driving? By completing this defensive driving online, you will receive a mandatory 10% car insurance discount each year for three years. Plus, you can reduce up to four points on your driver's license (while also saving with the insurance reduction). Our online course is designed to teach New York drivers safe driving strategies and minimize the risks drivers can encounter. It also serves to refresh New York drivers of the existing traffic laws and regulations. Register now and get started!

Insurance Discount Course - Approved by NYS DMV

Historically, car insurance premiums for New Yorkers are some of the country's highest. Now, there is an easy method to reduce your premium for three years. Prior to May 2009, New York defensive driving courses for an insurance discount and/or point reduction have only been available to students taking the course in a classroom. However, you are now allowed by the New York DMV to take the same defensive driving course online. When you complete the course, you are guaranteed a mandatory, 3-year, 10% car insurance reduction. This online defensive driving course meets all New York State DMV standards for insurance and point reduction.

New York motorists can now complete this New York DMV course for a faster insurance reduction. Online Defensive driving saves you time and money. It also provides you with the opportunity to complete defensive driving on your own time and at your own pace. There is no classroom requirement. New York defensive driving was designed to teach you defensive driving strategies in a simple delivery method. By taking this online course every three years, you can maintain your car insurance discount and reduce traffic ticket points (if eligible). You could be saving money New York!

DMV Approved Point Reduction Course

Haven’t got the time to sit in a classroom to take a defensive driving course for that traffic ticket you received? Our New York DMV course is approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles for point reduction and insurance reduction. That’s right, by simply completing our course you can reduce active points from your driving record and receive a mandatory 10% car insurance reduction for three years.

Is it really that easy? Yes. Our 100% online New York Point Reduction Course allows you to reduce your active point total by up to four points. To reduce your active point total by up to four points, you must have received points on your driving record within the last 18 months of completing our course. Points received for earlier or future violations are not affected by completing this course. The NYS DMV does not count up to four points on your driving record for license revocations or suspensions.

So if you have points on your driving record that meet this criteria your active point total will be reduced by up to four points.


Copyright © 2009, American Safety Council, Inc. (Sponsoring Agency 029). *Successful completion of 320-minute Internet course by principal operator of insured vehicle provides 3-year, 10% reduction in base rate of motorist’s current car liability, no-fault & collision premiums.**Point reduction benefits can be applied once within 18 months and reduce as many as 4 points from record. Reduced points remain on the driving record but are not counted by NYS DMV against the license. Point reduction does not remove, delete, subtract or erase violations, convictions or points, or prevent or cancel a mandatory revocation or suspension for violations such as DWI, DWAI or three speeding violations within 18 months.